What Is This Magic?

I have not been a writer of overwhelming inspiration these past few years. In 2009, I participated in NaNoWriMo for the first time (Or was is 2010? Sheesh, I don’t remember now.) and hammered out the rough draft of my current WIP. It was so rough. So, so SO rough. It was still a triumph because my writing had gone by the wayside for a long time. It was only at the encouragement of a new writer friend that I was able to run with the silly idea for a fantasy series that I had.

I was successful in that year of NaNo, finishing my book on November 29 with 52,000 words. I have not been able to complete a NaNo project since, but that year served as a shove in the right direction. Since then, my novel has gone through three different outlines and partial rewrites. It went from a two-part series, to a trilogy, and now I’m pretty sure it’s going to be four books. How awkward. If I can find the time to sit down and actually write it, I think it’s going to get done. I feel a lot more clear on where I am going right now.

But I digress. My point in writing this was to talk about the weirdness of a sudden burst of inspiration I’ve been having. As I mentioned, pretty much any time I’ve had for writing has been poured into this series. I haven’t really had any new ideas. The other night, I was lying in bed, trying to shut off my brain, when it happened. I got an idea, and it began to take shape. There was just one problem…it was for a romance novel!!! I don’t do romance. I have never written a normal, contemporary romance story. Ever. I pretty much always stick with Fantasy. Still, the idea is fairly complete in my mind, and I think it might be a fun project.

Then, two days ago, I was in my car, and ANOTHER idea popped into my head, and it was so exciting and brilliant, I thought for SURE someone would have already done it. If they have, I can’t find it anywhere. So, after I have written this…quadrilogy? Quadruped? Quadrillion? Whatever it is, after I have written it, I will have have another series, a romance novel, and the inkling for a huge 12-book series to write someday when I have time for massive amounts of historical research. This is just unheard-of for me. However, it does push me to want to finish this. 🙂

2 thoughts on “What Is This Magic?

  1. Redleg says:

    Tetralogy. 🙂

  2. Learn something new every day. 😛

Leave a Reply

